Visit of Taiwan Delegation at CYSEC


Long history of fruitful collaboration with cybersecurity institutions in Taiwan

The Taiwan Delegation in the new CYSEC showroom. Photo: Ann-Kathrin Braun

A delegation from Taiwan including Prof. Der-Tsai Lee visited CYSEC. General Manager Dr. Karin-Irene Eiermann and Spokesperson Prof. Johannes Buchmann presented the cybersecurity research at TU Darmstadt. The delegation also visited the construction site of the new CYSEC building at the main campus in the city center of Darmstadt, and had a lab tour at the Department of Computer Science.

The collaboration between the IT security experts at TU Darmstadt and various scientific institutions in Taiwan, in particular Academia Sinica, has a long tradition. There is a lively exchange between scientists of TU Darmstadt and Taiwan in all areas of cryptography, various topics regarding privacy as well as selected areas in security within sensor networks.

In 2008, Prof. Der-Tsai Lee was awarded an Alexander von Humboldt Award (nominated by TU Darmstadt) and in the same year he organized the first of several Germany-Taiwan workshops on cybersecurity and algorithms, in part funded by the German Science Foundation (DFG). Prof. Lee visits Darmstadt on a regular basis to continue the collaborative work.

From 2011 to 2013, Prof. Chen-Mou Cheng from National Taiwan University (NTU) was an Alexander von Humboldt Fellow at TU Darmstadt. In 2012, CYSEC PI Johannes Buchmann was awarded the Tsungming Tu Award, the highest academic honor bestowed on foreign scientists by the Taiwanese government.

In 2016, CYSEC signed a research cooperation framework agreement with the Research Center for Information Technology Innovation (CITI) at Academia Sinica, strengthening the long-standing relationship between the two institutions in a permanent strategic partnership.

Delegation members

  • Prof. Dr. Der-Tsai Lee (Head)
  • Mr. Jen-Fu Wang (Associate of Prof. Lee)
  • Mr. Hon-Wei JYAN (General Director of the Office for Cyber Security, Taiwan)
  • Mr. Chen Chih-Chung (General Director of the Taipeh Representative Office Frankfurt)
  • Mrs. Ally Roan (Director Taipeh Representative Office Frankfurt)
  • Dr. Chinghua Tsai (Secretary of Taipeh Representative Office Frankfurt)