Claude Shannon Fellowship

The Claude Shannon Fellowship Program is CYSEC’s early career program for exceptionally qualified young researchers. It enables young investigators to found their own research group related to cybersecurity at TU Darmstadt. The CSF Program is loosely based on the DFG Emmy Noether Program and is offered in collaboration with ATHENE, the National Research Center for Applied Cybersecurity.

The fellowship program

The Claude Shannon Fellowship gives early career researchers the opportunity to independently investigate and teach. They also receive the funds for one to two doctoral researchers / PhD students. The applicants have achieved an excellent doctorate in computer science or in a related field. They have a strong academic track record including publications and international research experience. Ideally, they held at least one post-doc position at another university.

The program was named in honor of the US-American mathematician and electrical engineer Claude Elwood Shannon (1916 – 2001), who is known as one of the founders of the information theory and was a pioneer in the area of cryptography.

Current Claude Shannon Fellows

Dr. Jean Paul Degabriele
CYSEC-PI and leader of the research group Cryptography and Network Security

Alumni of the Claude Shannon Fellowship Program

Prof. Eric Bodden
Professor of the specialist group software technology at the University of Paderborn und director of the Fraunhofer IEM

Prof. Lucas Davi
Junior professor of computer science at the University Duisburg-Essen

Prof. Michael Pradel
Professor of computer science and leader of the research group Software Lab at the University of Stuttgart

Prof. Thomas Schneider
Professor of computer science and leader of the Cryptography and Privacy Engineering Group at the TU Darmstadt

Dr. Haya Shulman
Head of the department for Cybersecurity Analytics and Defences at the Fraunhofer SIT